The industry panel, from l. Ben Steinmann-ASA, Mike Moehlenkamp-AASP-MO, Joe Battista-Parsons, Casey Diedering-OPUS and Donny Seyfer-ASA.John Laird has been promoted to store manager of the Aurora Auto Value parts Store.Top Five Managers recognized at Manager’s meeting, from l., Adam Kohrs- Atlantic, Bryan Miller- Moline, Lance Hurd- LeMars, Roger Miserez- West Point, Bruce Thomsen-Bellevue.Mike Georgi, recipient of the Service is the Difference Award.Store Manager of the Year, Kyle Byrne.

Midwest People & Places - February 2016


ASA, ASA-Midwest and AASP-MO co-hosted the Second Annual Vehicle Safety Inspection. The event was held at Hunter Engineering’s Bridgeton facility. Attendees heard presentations from a number of safety experts. Representatives from government agencies discussed their activities, from bureaucratic issues to accident reconstruction. Concerns ranged from lack of data comparing states with safety inspections to those without inspections, to systems on newer cars that are not part of the inspections. Two panels were presented. The first panel was peopled by government representatives. The second was represented by members of the automotive service industry, chaired by ASA Chairman Donny Seyfer. For those unable to attend a video recording will be available Next year the Safety Forum will be held in Texas.



The Arnold Group of Companies recently announced the promotion of John Laird. John has been named the store manager for the Auto Value parts Store in Aurora, Neb. John has been part of the team in their Hastings, Neb. Location. John started his management career with Menards and after 32 years joined Great Plains Chrysler where he was parts manager for several years.


Arnold Motor Supply recognizes the 2015 top performers at the company’s Manager’s Meeting in January. The Top 5 Awards recognize the top producers company-wide in both sales and percentage increase of sales. First-place - Arnold Motor Supply (AMS) Atlantic, Iowa; second-place - AMS Moline, Ill. third-place AMS LeMars, Iowa; fourth-place - Auto Value Parts Store West Point, Neb, and Fifth Auto Value Parts Store Bellevue, Neb.

Arnold Motor Supply’s Manager’s Meeting held in Ankeny, Iowa in January named the top performers in the Retail store Division. The Top 5 Awards recognize the top producers company-wide in both sales and percentage increase of sales. First place AMS-Spencer, second place APW- Omaha, third place AMS- Muscatine, fourth place AMS- Moline, fifth place AMS Fairfield.

Arnold Motor Supply, at the January meeting in Ankeny also recognized two individuals for their efforts. Mike Georgi of the Auto Value Store in Fairbury, Neb. Received the coveted Service is the Difference Award. The award recognizes exemplary effort going above and beyond the norm in customer service. Kyle Byrne, manager of the Arnold Motor Supply store in Grinnell, Iowa, received the Store Manager of the Year Award. The award was created to recognize the individual that best exemplifies outstanding leadership in the pursuit of performance excellence, and has done the most to further store performance.

Parts & People

Parts & People is published monthly by Automotive Counseling and Publishing Company, Inc., a Colorado corporation, P.O. Box 18731 Denver, CO 80203, 303-765-4664. President-Lance Buchner. Founded by Lance Buchner and Dave Lucia.