CTDA introduced it new board members.George Hritz is ASCCA’s member of the month.CREF is hosting a career fair at Contra Costa College, Oct. 22.

Northern California People & Places - July 2019


The California Tire Dealers Association (CTDA) introduced its new board of directors at a recent meeting. Billy Eordekian, president of 1-800EveryRim-OEM Wheels will serve as the CTDA President, and Chris Barry of the Independent Tire Dealer Group (ITDG) becomes the association’s past president. Paul Arellano, with Lakin Tire, remains the CTDA Vice President, and Daniel “Al” Martinez of National Tire Warehouse steps into the role of secretary/treasurer.

CAWA has established a scholarship program to help automotive teachers in several ways, including financially. CAWA represents manufacturers, distributors and retailers that could supply these high school automotive teachers with products, tools and other resources for classroom use to assist them in providing relevant, up-to-date and quality education and training for their students. Access to industry training being conducted by CAWA members could be made available to the automotive high school teachers for their own knowledge and development. Applications can be found at www.cawa.org or request an application from programs@cawa.org.

The ASCCA Membership Committee has announced George Hritz, executive director of the California Automotive Teachers, as its June ASCCA member. Hritz also represents automotive educators on the Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR) Advisory Group (BAG); serves as the director of the Automotive Technicians Training Standards (ATTS) working to maintain an industry standard for California’s automotive training programs; and is an ASCCA, CAWA and CalABC board member.

The Collision Repair Education Foundation (CREF) will be hosting a transportation career fair at Contra Costa College in San Pablo, Oct. 22, to help introduce students to industry employers/vendors. Business students and all industry members are invited to participate. Companies interested in participating can contact CREF Director of Development Brandon Eckenrode at Brandon.Eckenrode@ed-foundation.org or 312-231-0258.

CAWA has announced the recipients of its 2019 scholarship awards. CAWA provided $14,500 in scholarships this year to 14 individuals. “Once again, CAWA is proud to assist these young people in pursuing their education and careers in the auto care industry”, said Rodney Pierini, president and CEO. Recipients of California scholarships include:

• Rita Zughbaba - Mort Schwartz Award - Solano Community College

• Marcus Ramirez – Mort Schwartz Award - Rio Hondo College

• Benjamin Hart- Cuyamaca College

• Simon Chow – Skyline College

• Angel Cuellar- Universal Technical Institute

• Fernando Cruz- University of California - Merced

• Kevin Reynaga- Citrus College

• Caleb McClintock- Rio Hondo College

• Gabriel Lopez- Universal Technical Institute

• Ernesto Candelario- Cerritos College

• Melissa Mitchell- Universal Technical Institute

The CAA has announced that AB 755, a bill which would have increased the tire change fee from $1.75 to $3.25 per tire has died on the Assembly Floor. The CAA, its lobbyist Jack Molodanof, and its allies worked to defeat the bill which would have negatively affected the industry and has been referred to as a “regressive” tax.

Parts & People

Parts & People is published monthly by Automotive Counseling and Publishing Company, Inc., a Colorado corporation, P.O. Box 18731 Denver, CO 80203, 303-765-4664. President-Lance Buchner. Founded by Lance Buchner and Dave Lucia.